Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Hilt decoration
I was wondering about brass hilt decoration for my gladius under construction. Since most reproductions seem to carry non at all, one might think there wasn't any. But there are a few finds which make me belief there was, the pommel cladding (my previous post) for example.<br>
<br>
On the Armamentarium site, you can see a reconstruction of the 'Sword of Tiberius', on that hilt there is a decoration of what seems like a row of nails with domed heads and also a strip of brass around the guard. Is there any evidence for a decoration like this or is it a fantasy from the builder?<br>
<br>
As always, your thoughts will be highly appreciated!<br>
<br>
Greetings,<br>
<br>
Jurgen/Quintilianus <p></p><i></i>
Hi Quintilianus,<br>
I will try to help you as best as I am able. I am not an early period Roman soldier, I portray a fifth century Roman, so I'm no expert on gladii, but I HAVE seen pommels of some Roman spathae decorated with what appear to be little studs or nails. I cannot be sure which, because the illustration is a black and white archaelogical drawing from Bishop & Coulston, but it shows at least two such swords embellished in this manner. Also, I don't know exactly how accurate the Deepeeka spatha is, but they have a spatha which has a bone hilt, grip, and pommel, and the hilt and pommel seem to be seperated from the bone grip by brass or bronze spacers, which makes for a very attractive grip. Of course as I stated, these are all spathas, but I would imagine such decoration could easily have been applied to gladii as well, since many of the hilt styles for the gladius and spatha were almost identical.<br>
I hope this will help you out! <p>Lucius Aurelius Metellus, miles gregarius, Secunda Brittanica</p><i></i>
Lucius Aurelius Metellus
a.k.a. Jeffrey L. Greene
Thanks, Lucius!<br>
<br>