Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Linen Armor
Greetings,<br>
<br>
I saw the movie "Alexander" this weekend and apart from the soap-opera type feel of the picture, I thought the battle scenes were stunning. But it brought to my mind an age old debate concerning the use of leather armor in antiquity. Bear with me if I seem to ramble.<br>
<br>
It is an accepted premise that leather armor was not used to any extent in the Roman Army since it would not have been proof against the weapons of the day. This I believe to be true. However, would linen armor have been proof against the weapons of the day? I will grant you that I have no experience whatever with linen, layered and glued together, but it seems to me that any good spear would easily penetrate such a defense. Still, we know the Greeks used such armor. Is it a better defense than leather?<br>
<br>
I also know that regular, supple leather would be easily penetrated by a spear or sword, but that rawhide would be more problematic. I'm not suggesting that current thinking on the subject is incorrect, I just got to thinking that if linen was used (as it was), why wasn't leather?<br>
Quote:</em></strong><hr>Vis Superavi Ignarum<hr><br>
<p>Vis Superavi Ignarum!</p><i></i>
I have heard of similar Elizabethan Linen armor stopping a pistol ball. An example was found with a pistol ball embedded in it)<br>
I would imagine that the Greeks wouldn't have used it if it didn't work.<br>
I think it is accepted that the Romans didn't use leather armor as one Roman writer critised another people for using it. The main problem with leather armor as I see it is that it gets soft in wet weather. So its ok for the middle east ( there is a suit of Crocodile skin armor from Egypt in the British Museum) but not good for the western empire.<br>
<br>
Aulus Cladius Maximus <p></p><i></i>
Bernard Jacobs
Any opinion stated is genally not the opinion of My group or Centurian