RomanArmyTalk
Archery: Thumbring? - Printable Version

+- RomanArmyTalk (https://www.romanarmytalk.com/rat)
+-- Forum: Reenactment (https://www.romanarmytalk.com/rat/forumdisplay.php?fid=5)
+--- Forum: Roman Re-Enactment & Reconstruction (https://www.romanarmytalk.com/rat/forumdisplay.php?fid=26)
+--- Thread: Archery: Thumbring? (/showthread.php?tid=3237)

Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6

Archery: Thumbring? - Matt Lukes - 04-19-2005

Avete Omnes,

I've been a very casual amateur archer for a long time now, and I've always drawn with my first three fingers- so what exactly is a thumbring for? Was there a different way to draw a bow 2000 years ago?

Valete

Matt

Re archers Ring - Anonymous - 04-19-2005

Hi, Ive been looking into this as well and found this site whilst brousing the web, theres a video of the archers ring being used and it certainly opens your eyse to the differences in techniques..you can still buy these rings even from a firm in the uk, if you look at the thread on roman bows you'll see alink to it for roman arrows.. watch the video, certainly opened my eyes... [url:31fe3wui]http://www.koreanarchery.org[/url]

enjoy regards Kormanus

Re: Archery: Thumbring? - Matt Lukes - 04-20-2005

Wow, that's great Kormanus- thanks very much. Looks like it might be a little hard on the thumb knuckle :lol: Apparently thumbrings have been found with bow fragments at Roman sites in England- so Legion archers did use this technique...

Matt

Re: Archery: Thumbring? - Anonymous - 04-20-2005

There also seems to be quite a divergence of the type of ring used, there are quite a few recorded specimins of Roman Archers Rings, there's even a bronze one on ebay at the moment that looks quite nice, quite ornate really. But there area few that have been found which are vary similar to the chinese variation which is more like a plastic woggle if you can remember them from your scouting days made from jade, bone etc.