RomanArmyTalk
Great “glue†- Printable Version

+- RomanArmyTalk (https://www.romanarmytalk.com/rat)
+-- Forum: Reenactment (https://www.romanarmytalk.com/rat/forumdisplay.php?fid=5)
+--- Forum: Roman Re-Enactment & Reconstruction (https://www.romanarmytalk.com/rat/forumdisplay.php?fid=26)
+--- Thread: Great “glue†(/showthread.php?tid=9577)

Pages: 1 2

Great “glue†- AntonivsMarivsCongianocvs - 06-01-2007

Salve,

Along with my arming cap I really needed some extra padding on the inside of my attic helmet (yes, this is the attic helmet I’ve been making for the last 3 months… it’s almost done... it used to be the Corinthian helmet you see me wearing in my avatar photo to the left) anyways… after reading through various posts concerning padding, most saying that hide glue melts in the summer heat and nearly no glue would hold leather to steel really well… I tried JB Wield.

JB Wield is an epoxy & steel combined with a hardener that is used in cold wielding; not the most historically accurate method of attaching leather and linen to steel however; it works phenomenally well and bonds leather and linen to steel.

BTW: I tried Elmers glue, rubber cement, and crazy glue... they didn't hold leather to metal well at all.

I folded over a stip of linen three times and placed some cold weilding over the seam
[Image: Helmet%20006.jpg]

Once folded I had a nice thick pad for the inside of my helmet's brow
[Image: Helmet%20007.jpg]

After cold weilding a strip of leather to the inside brow, I added more JB wield on the folded side of the linen and bonded that to the leather
[Image: Helmet%20013.jpg]

Re: Great “glue†- AntonivsMarivsCongianocvs - 06-01-2007