Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Germanic Knives / Daggers Help Needed
Salve, all. I'm still new to the Roman reenacting / living history game, and so that what better place to ask what I hope is a simple question.

I'm creating a auxiliary archer impression (the screen name sort of gives that away, eh?), and am thinking of the character being a Germanic type who decided to enlist for all those nice bennies, such as regular meals and citizenship.

As much as I have tried, I can't seem to figure out what kind of knives / daggers were in common use by Germanic peoples 2000 years ago. The seax, as cool a weapon as it is, seems not to have been in use that far back (but not being an expert on edge weapons, I may be very ignorant here), but there must have been some proto-seax of some sort? All this is to say, I want something a bit different than the Pugio, but what?

So, what do you folks think about my knife dilemma? Thanks in advance!
Dane Donato
Legio III Cyrenaica
I am working on a Batavian impression that will feature some early items, like the Krefeld helmet and a long-sword as opposed to an issue gladius.

Peronis, the "master" of all things Batavian, recommended a seax to me as a dagger for this earlier Batavian impression.

Edge
Gaius Aurelius Calvus
(Edge Gibbons)

Rules for Posting

LEG XI CPF
<a class="postlink" href="http://www.11thlegion.com">http://www.11thlegion.com

"Mens est clavis victoriae."
I have just finished two Germanic La Tene reconstructions for use in the Roman Festival. They still need the handlewrapping (rawhide around a wooden filler on the inside), but this shows the design of the knife beter. I did use a good steel, they have a nice ring to them, and I may put a proper edge on them after the festival. They are pretty lethal cutlery! Hope the pics help you.
Salvete et Valete

Nil volentibus arduum

Robert P. Wimmers
www.erfgoedenzo.nl/Diensten/Creatie Big Grin