Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Reference Book
Hello everybody! I'm new in Roman Army Talk and this is my first post.

I would like to buy an illustrative reference book about classical warfare. I'm interested in both equipment and battle tactics as well as battle maps and campaign descriptions if possible. My aim is to use this book alongside with other more detailed books about the era.

Having searched the net (mostly amazon.com to be honest!), I came along the following books:

1)Greece and Rome at War - Peter Connolly
2)Warfare in the Ancient World - Brian Todd Carey
3)Warfare in the Classical World - John Gibson Warry

Which one would you recommend? Are there other books that I should think of?

I must note that I already own half-a-dozen men-at-arms/elite Osprey books, so I need something better.

Thank you guys in advance! Big Grin
Strategos Timoleon
(Petros Karavelas)
[Image: kh-sig.jpg]
Welcome!

Connolly is Number One, hands down. (Just make sure you get the second edition!) Warry is also quite good though it's getting a little old by now. I don't think I know the second one you list, though I've probably seen it somewhere.

Connolly also has a number of "spin-off" books, some of which actually were published before Greece and Rome at War and were partially integrated into it (Greek Armies, Roman Army). But anything he does is great.

Happy reading!

Matthew
Matthew Amt (Quintus)
Legio XX, USA
<a class="postlink" href="http://www.larp.com/legioxx/">http://www.larp.com/legioxx/
There are also 'Montvert' books about Achaemenid Persian, Seleucid and Ptolemaic reformed armies. They are no longer published but it's still possible to find them. You can also try Osprey's Campaign, Battle Orders, and Essential Histories series.

Good luck!
Laran aka Sait
Just posting to support what Matt says about Connolly.Not to be compared with Osprey.I don't have the other two you mentione,,though.I have seen pics from Warry's and they're very good,I prefer Connolly.