Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Animals used in gladiator fights
Hello everybody,

I wanted to ask what kind of animals were used in gladiator fights, and for what purposes ( fighting against gladiators, feeding people to them, animal vs. animal maybe) ?

I have searched forum for this but could not find anything ( sorry if i missed it :roll: )
Daumantas Kiulkys
As far as I know, but I'm pretty new to the gladiatoral subject. There were fights of gladiators against animals, animals vs animals, animals vs prisoners.

There also were trained animals, if I'm right. I can remember seeing gladiator with a lion.

In Rome, where there was lots of money for the games, most exclusive animals were used. Elephants, Lion, etc.
ALA I BATAVORUM
There is a different between gladiators combats (gladiator against gladiator), venations (fights from venatores against animals), fights between animals and executions (for example “damnation ad bestiasâ€
Lucius Domitius Aurelianus
Patrik Pföstl

<a class="postlink" href="http://www.roemer.ch.vu">http://www.roemer.ch.vu

<a class="postlink" href="http://www.celtae.de/SihFrewen/index.php">http://www.celtae.de/SihFrewen/index.php

[Image: o3.gif]

Quote:As far as I know, but I'm pretty new to the gladiatoral subject. There were fights of gladiators against animals, animals vs animals, animals vs prisoners.

Gladiators fought only against other gladiators that is human being against human being and if to take the term more precise professional fighter against professional fighter. That is a person who received a training at a ludus.

The men and women who fought against animals are called venatores (hunters), the bestiarius would be an animal handler only, letting the animal out of the cage etc. while the venator is the one fighting the animal with either a spear or bow and arrow.