Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Earliest known Roman and Greek Renactment of Battles
My name is Dawn also known as Theatreof War. I am an Advanced Photography Student re Theatrical Portfolios. I beleve that Re-enactments is a form of forgotten performance with its roots in Greek Theatre -as a form of Tragedy.I know that The Romans woul fight often to the death re-enactments in the Colleseum and also flood it to have naval battle re-enactments.(the Gladiators a step away from the re-enactment).I would like to know if anyone out there could help me in finding the first known Roman-reenactment and if possiblt the earliest Greek Re-enactment.
I know there was this guy called Aeshylus -a war veteran from Marathon
B 525BC - D 455BC who wrote one play called the "Persans " 472 BC where there was a re-enactment of a battleship between the Greek and the Persans, (this is where he Aeshylus been sriously injured.
Does anyone know of anyother play earlier than this regarding a battle re-enactment. Cheers Dawn
Quote:My name is Dawn also known as Theatreof War.
Hi Dawn,

First of all, let me welcome you here.

Secondly, please add your real (first) name to your signature (in your profile). It's a forum rule.

Thirdly, I had to move your post, the subjest of which has nothing to do with rules or announcements. Please take care where you post and look up the proper section first.
Robert Vermaat
FECTIO Late Romans
THE CAUSE OF WAR MUST BE JUST
(Maurikios-Strategikon, book VIII.2: Maxim 12)
TheatreofWar/ Dawn

Hi. I think if you read Aeschylus, you will find almost no action in his tragedies, or any other ancient Greek tragedy. There is no re-enactment of a battle. The Greek tragic writers relied on words, rather than deeds. Action tends to happen off stage, then is reported on stage by the few actors, and chorus. The works are brilliant beyond a doubt, particularly if you read the ancient greek.

You will have to look elsewhere for re-enactment.

Kevin