Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Which roman soldier would you have been? (Combatants)
I would have been the legate Smile Legion! Maaarrrcchhh!
I have a repeated nightmare that I am a soldier at the Limes in the Black Forest, fighting against the barbarians out there, only to find, on my return to the Rainau fort, that the commander of the garrison has surrendered and is now drinking tea with the Germanic leader; they are both standing on one of the towers, looking down upon us.
Jona Lendering
Relevance is the enemy of history
My website
Next time dream that you have the forts only ballista with you :twisted:

BTW didn't the germans sacrifice captives?
Would, should, or have wanted to be?

I probably would have been the guy who genuinely does his best and kind of fits in, despite being visibly unsuited to the task both physically and emotionally. Until I have some sort of stupid accident and die.

I should have been one of Vegetius' "literate men", the interpreters, filing clerks, investigators, planners, scribes, accountants, court recorders and receivers of hefty bribes. A job that involves travel, power, the use of one's brain, and as little actual getting killed as humanly avoidable.

I would have wanted to be in the medical services. It'd mean doing something genuinely useful with the skills I have (I suck at crafts and am an abject coward, but my memory works pretty well, I have a hand for all things that get cooked, mixed and distilled, and everyone says I am good with people).
Der Kessel ist voll Bärks!

Volker Bach
I meant combatants :twisted:
Most likely a basic legionnaire, nothing fancy.
Topi-Veli
Salus Rei publicae summa lex tibi esto
Very well then Bascius Nothingus Fancius Legionarius (God I love qausi-latin) give me twenty :twisted:
Quote:Very well then Bascius Nothingus Fancius Legionarius (God I love qausi-latin) give me twenty :twisted:
Twenty. Smile
Topi-Veli
Salus Rei publicae summa lex tibi esto