Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Book Idea...
So I'm contemplating writing something. I'd call it my own amateur novel project as I'm no professional writer by any means. But, I have a story idea that is set in the early years of the 1st Century AD. Now without getting into too much of exactly what kind of story it is, and giving too much away... I have a question for everyone.

What is/are your thought(s) on writers who portray an event or series of events of the time period (we'll say for the sake of argument all of Rome's existence)... but do not follow history?

We've all seen or read the Historical Fiction books of say Bernard Cornwell, Simon Scarrow, etc. They created realistic environments based on actual factual events (or at least loosely based on events). What I'm talking about is an author who takes history (let's say the scene of Julius Caesar's assassination) and turn it around into a sort of Sci-fi, or Fantasy, or action adventure.

Do you guys look down upon writers who change history or make wild fictional claims in their creative writing? Can you pick up a book, read it, and enjoy it if it isn't based on history?

Now what I'm getting at is I wanted to write a story that is historically accurate (the uniforms, weapons, civilian life, etc), but take a certain point or events and put my own spin on it in a COMPLETELY different manner. I was looking to make it a suspense, thriller, horror style story but still keep the majority of the elements realistic (proper of period equipment, language, etc).

Would anyone read a story like that? Would anyone be offended if a scene or event was portrayed differently? Am I likely to get the mass hatred of the die hard's (those that want the event(s) told as it was intended)?