Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Building a boat-hull Boeotian
Lovely! No doubt you've seen Chris's post. Different construction but he has experimented with moving the beast. [url:3afkuz1x]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IeKuy36OG_g[/url]
Peter Raftos
Chris's video was one of my inspirations--nor did my first experience fighting behind it find any flaws with his analysis about use.

I have had to re-cut the cover and change the edges. Matt Amt was right (as always) and it shrank to the point that it snapped the laces. No damage to the ribs and main braces, so I re-wet the surface and clenched copper nails -- visually attractive and it SEEMS to have shrunk to fit just right, but I won't know for a week. I'll post pictures--in triumph if it succeeds, and for a lesson if it fails...

Always listen to advice on RAT!
Qui plus fait, miex vault.
I made a quick shield out of plywood with the cutouts on the sides like your Boetian. I am a martial artist and constantly test different techniques so I tried resting the spear in the cutouts. It was very easy to maneuver and press especially in a phalanx stance. I am going to make a Boetian eventually and I thank you immensely for posting yours.
Craig Bellofatto

Going to college for Massage Therapy. So reading alot of Latin TerminologyWink

It is like a finger pointing to the moon. DON\'T concentrate on the finger or you miss all the heavenly glory before you!-Bruce Lee

Train easy; the fight is hard. Train hard; the fight is easy.- Thai Proverb
A very nice looking shield. About how much did it cost to build?

Edward
Edward Lindey

A horse is a thing of beauty... none will tire of looking at him as long as he displays himself in his splendor.         Xenophon

Cost a little less than $400. The rawhide was expensive--about $100. I paid a professional to steam bend my oak. he's doing me a pair of aspis rims now... perhaps one will be for Giannis... anyway, the rims were a little less than $200 a set.