Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
HANNIBAL BARCA UNIFORM
Hi All,
this my first post, I have re-posted here as its a more appropriate section, so here goes...
I'm an artist and have been comissioned to illustrate Hannibal for a book on Rome and her enemies. The reference I have been given is for a figure wearing a helmet of the type shown in the well known bust of Hannibal (you know the one where he looks like a broken nosed boxer wearing a kids plastic helmet!)The rest is guess work, but the author is suggesting a mail shirt similar the the roman type and bronze greaves.
I just wondered if anyone had some suggestions of their own as I would assume Hannibals uniform might be something more impressive.Would a leather muscled cuirass with leather straps forming a skirt be possible? Helmet suggestions would also be much appreciated
thanks in advance
Simon
Hannibal spent much of his life in Spain and his army was heavily Spanish. You might look into the remarkable and distinctive Spanish equipment. As with the whole Mediterranean world Greek influence was unavoidable, but there were many uniquely spanish features.
Pecunia non olet
Here is my interpretation of Hannibal Barca

all comments appreciated....
Well... perhaps the BEST depiction of Hannibal I have seen so far Confusedhock: ... It looks like a REAL man, not like "Gimli" of the late angus McBride works...
Virilis / Jyrki Halme
PHILODOX
[Image: fectio.png]
I would expect Hannibal´s helmet and armour to be gilded or silvered at least. Also the pterges would probably have a more textile appearance. And IMO he ceratainly would not carry a deepeeka sword. ^^
Christian K.

No reconstruendum => No reconstruction.

Ut desint vires, tamen est laudanda voluntas.
caiustarquitius, what sword would you suggest then?
Re the armour, what you descrbe sounds like expensive Parade armour but I would imagine he also had campaign armour akin to what I have depicted.