Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Varus disaster diorama by Kevin Townsend
To RAT:

Greetings to all. My name is Kevin Townsend. While I have only just now joined your site, I have been "lurking" for a couple years. I just wanted to drop in and say thanks for all the research help you have - unknowingly - provided on a large project I have been working on for the last three years.
The project was a diorama and accompanying book about the Varus disaster in the Teutoburg Forest. Using all 18 of Time Machine Miniatures kits, as well as numerous extra figures and parts provided by Jim Corless of Time Machine, I created a rather large diorama of a portion of the battle containing about 97 figures, horses, mules, wagons, etc. The book aims to tell the story of the battle using photos of the diorama.
While I have studied - and taught - history most of my life, my focus on the ancient world was never large. Your site proved invaluable in directing me to reference material and your discussions provided interesting insight and food for thought. If anyone is interested, the book is available for free download on Time Machine Miniatures website. Hopefully, I don't violate any of your posting rules by providing the link - it can be found here:

[url:35a6dlck]http://www.timemachineminiatures.com/pdf/TeutoburgerWaldBooklet.pdf[/url]

Your site has also helped with a few smaller projects done during and since the work on the big diorama. Thanks again for all your assistance. I will continue to use this site as a primary research tool.

Kevin Townsend
New Jersey
Kevin
Although I am personally increasingly convinced that the Teutoburg Forest disaster was less decisive than the Claudian Army Reforms, it is easy to admit that this diorama is -in one word- splendid. I enjoyed it very much.
Jona Lendering
Relevance is the enemy of history
My website