Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
The Lorica Segmentata
Hi everyone!
I am a newbie here so I would like to ask several questions on this particular type of armour:

Have there been any tests done for this armours, I have read the wiki page and it says that lorica segmenta virtually stops all kinds of missiles and direct strikes. Also is it possible for a lorica segmenta to sustain a bolt from the ballista? I have heard that the armour was fine even you shoot a ballista at it.

Are there any chances for a crossbow with 350-400 lbs draw weight to penetrate this armour?

Is it true that not all roman legionaries wore this armours? I think it was too expensive to equip it for everyone. Was this armour only for parade or it was used actually in battle. I have a feeling that legionaries depicted in the Trajan Column wore this armour, but another Trajanic monument, the Adamclisi Tropaeum showed no details of lorica segmenta and instead lorica squamata as well as mails, which ones was close to reality
JAROS?AW
That are a lot of questions at once. So, lets start with a welcome. Hopefully you'll enjoy this board.

@Tests: I know there has done some testing, and some more recently. But I don't know about the results yet. So I'll let this question unanswered. I only would like to comment that the shield is as important (or even more) in the defence. Probably no armour would sustain a big blow, as you still have the force of the impact, no matter if it goes through the armour or not, that force is there and goes to your body.