Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Greek Stirrup!1
OK this is going to be highly controvercial.

Original
http://www.horse.gr/pgeDynamic.asp?Sele ... egoryID=34

Translation
http://babelfish.yahoo.com/translate_ur ... =Translate

My question: did the Bagram statuets mentien in there exist? Any image?
What is the possibility that the guy has a point?

Kind regards
Quote:My question: did the Bagram statuets mentien in there exist? Any image?
Do you think he meant this statuette? It can hardly be adduced as evidence.
[Image: begram_alexander.JPG]
Jona Lendering
Relevance is the enemy of history
My website
Dont know Jona.
This statuete gives evidence of riding boots(?) only.
I post it all this hoping that something will come up
My thanks!

Kind regards
I'm not a riding expert but wouldn't a boot that is specifically designed for use with a stirrup have a noticable heel?
Author: Bronze Age Military Equipment, Pen & Sword Books
I was recently reading an old paper by L. Sprauge de Camp, and excellent fiction writer as well as historian and linguist, "Before Stirrups", wherein he describes loops being attached to saddles far earlier than stirrups to aid in mounting. Evidently this can be seen in Skythian art on the chertomylk vase.
Paul M. Bardunias
MODERATOR: [url:2dqwu8yc]http://www.romanarmytalk.com/rat/viewtopic.php?t=4100[/url]
A Spartan, being asked a question, answered "No." And when the questioner said, "You lie," the Spartan said, "You see, then, that it is stupid of you to ask questions to which you already know the answer!"
Quote:I was recently reading an old paper by L. Sprauge de Camp, and excellent fiction writer as well as historian and linguist, "Before Stirrups", wherein he describes loops being attached to saddles far earlier than stirrups to aid in mounting. Evidently this can be seen in Skythian art on the chertomylk vase.