Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
The Fractured Phalanx
Having been reading a little about how the mighty pike phalanx was pretty well unbeatable head on - as long as it remained on level ground - and of course how vulnerable it was if it didn't, I have always been left wondering why this obvious weakness wasn't really dealt with more effectively.

The account for example of Pydna, where a near success became a complete disaster is surely a case in point. That battle led not only to the defeat of the last worthwhile Makedonian army to take up arms against the Romans, but to the fall, capture and shame of Perseos, and the deconstruction of the whole Makedonian state.

And all because the unwieldy formation didn't halt when it reached broken ground?

I am no expert upon the sarissa-armed phalanx of the successor regimes, but I recognise there are many here who are (at least far more so than me) and would be interested in your opinions. I always wondered about this formation break and also another aspect which was dealing with it head on:

(a) knowing the phalangite was so clearly vulnerable to close-quarters attack from a swordsman (like a legionary) why did the unit ever allow itself to be placed in such a position? Was it merely the heat of battle; the breakdown of officers' orders; the inertia of the mass in terms of control? Couldn't these pikemen have also been trained in a secondary fashion as excellent swordsmen themselves once the pikes were no longer a viable (defensive) weapon? Or was it just too difficult to do anything in a tight mass wielding these long spears?