Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Roman Paint
Hi All,

Here is a question about Roman paints. Did the Romans ever use oil-based paints(like enamels)? I have heard from reenactors that the preferred paints fro decorating shields and the like are casein paints. Is this all we have ever found archaeologically? With all the paintings uncovered at Pompeii and Herculaneum, I wondered if any of them were done with oils or enamels? Or paited statuary for that matter...

Any "Roman art" gurus out there care to chime in?
MARCVS VELIVS AVITVS (Reid Neilsen)
LEGIO VII GEMINA FELIX
"SI HOC LEGERE SCIS NIMIVM ERUDITIONIS HABES"

http://www.whitemountainforge.com
I'm not an expert on Roman painting (more's the pity) but my understanding is that oil paints were not invented in Europe until the early 15th century (there are even stories about renaissance artists being whacked to prevent them leaking the secret to competitors).

The paintings found at Pompeii/Herculaneum are all frescos which can only be done using water based paints directly onto wet plaster. I believe that the evidence on painted statuary is in the form of staining only, which precludes a forensic analysis of the paint used.

There is a large corpus of paintings from Egypt from the late 1st to 4th centuries which are done in encaustic (pigment in hot beeswax), egg tempera (pigment in egg yolks) and [I.I.R.C.] casein (pigment in milk protein).

The painted shields found at Dura Europos when analysed were reported to have used at least three different media; encaustic painted directly onto a skin facing, and water-based or egg tempera or casein onto thin parchment or a layer of gesso (made from lime and plaster). I don't know why casein is so preferred by re-enactors. Perhaps it's due to durability and ease of use while retaining some authenticity? I hope someone will come on and enlighten us further.
Hello, my name is Harry.