Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Greek Slingers
Hi folks,<br>
I'm trying to gather up as many pictures of Greek slingers available. I'm a professional illustrator/designer and I'm working on a few things about the ancient slinger. I've been slinging for years and hand braid my own slings. I also melt lead and make my own sling bullets. I'll also take any literary sources, but I think I've covered all my bases on that point! If any of you guys are from Greece, I would love to hear any modern day sling stories!<br>
Thanks,<br>
Johnny <p></p><i></i>
I can't offer you any tips for your research, but perhaps you can help me with mine! I'm interested in slinging and would like to make my own bullets. Do you use a clay mould, and then break it, or what? I've seen pictures of bullets, but no scale was given; can you tell me how large they should be and how much they should weigh? I hear sling stones as large as tennis balls have been found; do you know anything of this?<br>
<br>
Paul <p></p><i></i>
You can make a wooden mold like this:www.larp.com/legioxx/bullets.jpg<br>
Just melt the lead in a tin can(one that has no seem on the bottom) in an outside grille. Just put in the charcoal and set the can on top of the hot coals, it will melt. I usually make my sling bullets about the size of my thumb. Try different sizes. The Belearic slingers used stones that weighed about 1 pound, about the size of a tennis ball. Check out this site:www.slinging.org/<br>
<br>
Johnny <p></p><i></i>
Gentlemen.<br>
I think you might find the following likn usefull:<br>
www.staff.ncl.ac.uk/nikol...sling.html <p></p><i></i>
Is there a particular region of Ancient Greece that was famous for its slingers in the same way that Crete was famous for its Archers?

Thanks Smile
Regards,

Hisham
Quote:Is there a particular region of Ancient Greece that was famous for its slingers in the same way that Crete was famous for its Archers?

Thanks Smile

But the sunny isaland of Rhodes of cource!!