Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
A few feeble attempts at swords
The reason I say feeble is that they are not made to any historical accuracy and they are made mostly in a crude manner due to the fact that I only have access to a large coarse belt sander, angle grinder and hand drill.

These are admittedly rough. None of the blades are hardened nor polished. I knew very little about making a sword and initially only wanted a display to go alongside my other display swords. Since then I have become more interested in historical accuracy and especially in Roman weaponry and tactics.

Anyway, at the risk of seeming totally incompetent, here are my models (as is and mostly unfinished as they need serious polishing)

I'm a noob, please be gentle lol

[attachment=5021]Gladius3b.JPG[/attachment]

BTW, the far left was my first attempt and I knew at the time it was too narrow but I had this neat piece of stainless so it is a bit "sting" like from LOTR. The far right is a second generation re-shaping of my original spatha blade and will also be re-shaped again as I doubt it's shape matches any historical examples.

Attached Files Thumbnail(s)

Hi,

Continuous attempts makes a man perfect.

Regards,
Suhel
What can i say? I would never be able to make something like this. You will probably end becoming a great blacksmith.
Eduardo Vázquez
You actually can do a fairly decent job with stock removal using the aforementioned tools. I don't have access to a forge so unless I win the lottery and build myself a top=notch shop then I will have to buy my quality blades.

A lesson in creating a proper look alike Roman sword is to do more than look at photos lol.

Live and learn I suppose. These are a good lesson in making things wrong but not looking too badly in the process ;-)
Jim,