Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Late Roman/Sub Roman Headgear.
This is my first post on this forum, I am a wargamer with an interest in this period, and have found this forum to be of great value.
I am no expert, but it seems to me that tha most common headgear, aside from helmets(if they were common) is the Pillbox Hat.
Was the Phrygian Cap also as common. At one time it was the favoured headgear for Late Roman illustrations of troops and wargame figures, now it appears on pictures of Early Saxon Troops only.Would the Phrygian Cap still be used by Late Roman and Sub Roman troops.

I like to paint and research my Wargame Armies to be as accurate as possible.

Steve M
I've seen some images of Late Roman Re-enactors using them, so I'd imagine so.

Also, the resoning behind metal armor seems to be that chainmail and the like were only worn in set-piece battles, or in planned engagements. On the march or on guard duty, soldiers seem to have worn leather subarmalis. We had a good discussion on TWC, if I can find it I'll link you to it.

But helmets would be perfectly accurate, most troops were equipped with them.
Which Phrygian cap are you referring to? The Smurf hat?
If you've seen late re-enactors wearing them, are you sure they are not doing another period in the picture?
Visne partem mei capere? Comminus agamus! * Me semper rogo, Quid faceret Iulius Caesar? * Confidence is a good thing! Overconfidence is too much of a good thing.
[b]Legio XIIII GMV. (Q. Magivs)RMRS Remember Atuatuca! Vengence will be ours!
Titus Flavius Germanus
Batavian Coh I
Byron Angel
Late Romans probably wore more Pannonian Caps than Phrygian, in the West anyway. And there is the pileus, which is sort of a reduced volume Phrygian.

All images found by simple google search, different sources.

Attached Files Thumbnail(s)

M. Demetrius Abicio
(David Wills)

Saepe veritas est dura.