Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Late Roman Army
Hi!

I'm a Dutch student and I'm writing an essay about the development of the Roman Army. At the moment I'm writing about the Late Roman Army. But I have ran into some troubles and the internet can't seem to help me Sad . So I have a few questions:

1)A roman "ordo", is that equal to a roman cohort?
2)Did the late Roman army (between ca 300 AD and 400 AD) use manipels in the army or cohorts? I know that the army of the principate used cohorts, and a cohorts consists 2 manipels. But since the size of the legions was reduced in the Dominate, did they still use cohorts? Or was it much more likely to use manipels and erase cohorts?
3)Was there a big change in command structure? I read about the 2 magisters leading infantery and cavalery, but how was this in the army?
4) The "foederati": in what way were they different from the normal auxilia?

Help is much appreciated :grin:

Thanks in advance Smile
"Ordo" means order, and contrary to Phil Barker's writings which were for a war game, the Ordo didn't exist, although it was an interesting theory for it's time.

these threads here:
http://www.twcenter.net/forums/showthread.php?t=423960
http://www.twcenter.net/forums/showthread.php?t=353621

Go extensivley into the Organization of the Late Roman Army, where it is believed the Roman Maniple came back into use in the 4th century, and was later renamed the "Numerus," both of which were led by a Ducenarius. these threads are entirely his work, and I obviously take no credit for them.

The Cohort was still the dominant unit in the late army, but the organization got more complex because a wider variety of units and detatchments were made to counter various threats.

In the Army, the Magister Pedites and Magister Equitum really didn't exist; instead they were replaced by Multiple Magister Militae. Although they certainly existed in the development of this system at some point, likely years before the ND was published