Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Any horse archers?
Hello! I have recently began horse archery as a hobby(now that I have my recurve anyway), and I have had more fun in that short time of horse archery than the entirety of my riding histoy. However, I am a newb and my coach, while excellent, is not a horse archer. Does anybody here who might happen to be a horse archer have any tips for a guy learning the ropes?
Hi Jack

I'm an aspiring horse archer too, but there are many on the forum who will offer their help, I'm sure.

Where abouts in the world are you?
Moi Watson

Life should NOT be a journey to the grave with the intention of arriving safely in an attractive and well preserved body, but rather to skid in sideways, Merlot in one hand, Cigar in the other; body thoroughly used up, totally worn out, and screaming "WOO HOO, what a ride!
Give Jurjen Draaisma a PM, he shoots a mean arrow from horseback and also has a good system of keeping things safe at demo's. He is a really nice guy, so I am sure he will pass you some tips. I am an archer, but will NOT get on a horse. Lovely creatures, but too high for me ....
Salvete et Valete

Nil volentibus arduum

Robert P. Wimmers
www.erfgoedenzo.nl/Diensten/Creatie Big Grin
Well, I can give you some tips, but maybe best to know little more about your riding experience and skills. What kind of saddle do you ride? There are some major differences in shooting from a Roman saddle (as I do) compared to a saddle with stirrups, for instance.
ALA I BATAVORUM
Jurjen is right, stirrups turn a saddle into a platform basically, like sitting in a chair. Romans didn't have stirrups (or at least not until the 5th century or so).

I don't do horse archery, but I have a friend who does (Lynn from Legio IX in Virginia). So I know a bit about it.
Vindex,

I live in central PA, of the US.

Jvrjenivs,