Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Poster at a conference
There is a ancient mosaic conference coming up at the end of next year and they will be asking for submissions for posters. Could someone please explain what this entails? What sort of format is it, is there a general format or does it depend on guidelines from the organisers?

Thanks
Lawrence Payne

Asking me to tile your bathroom is like asking Vermeer to creosote your shed ;-)
[url:2kdj7ztq]http://www.romanmosaicworkshops.co.uk[/url]
www.romanmosaicworkshops.co.uk
www.romanmosaicpatterns.com
I'm a graphic designer so I can also help with this one.
The employer should always give the details for projects like this. It's in their authority to tell what kind of poster they want: what info it must have and how big it should be for example. The designers job is to make the information look good and readable so it will attract audience. I guess that when the conference is just at the end of next year, so there's more than a year before it, that they don't have all the info yet, and they'll reveal it (much) later. You probably just have to wait for them to announce more details, or then you have to ask them directly.
The usual "poster size" is 70 × 100 cm by the way.
Antonius Insulae (Sakari)
Thanks for that, I'll keep an eye out for when they give out more details.
Lawrence Payne

Asking me to tile your bathroom is like asking Vermeer to creosote your shed ;-)
Quote:Thanks for that, I'll keep an eye out for when they give out more details.
You just need to sum up your research in an eye-catching and interesting way. Take a look at this: here is an example of an academic paper on the Poet of Tilurium, and here is the poster on the same theme.