Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Onager questions.
Greetings everyone,
I have been kicking around building an onager for about two years.  Bought some books but the information on the onager is so painfully thin, I don't think I have ever seen even a source say they were x number of feet long in the base.

Now in digging around I found someone that roughly figured out the thickness of the band by measuring the weight of the projectile and distance it could through.  It makes a few assumptions from there. 
His statement is that a "full sized" Onager would roughly be 20 US feet.  Now that would make the bottom two rails about
4 tons if they were made out of decent oak.   Now I can get trees at little to no charge and rough em in with a chain saw.
but with a total weight of about 5 tons I am not going to be moving it with out special equipment.  So I was thinking half size.
at one ton per rail I could move this with a truck, abet in several trips. 
Relevant paper here

Now I am of the anti-arrest post crowd.  I read on here a discussion from several people about different ideas about what would work better.  Things like the design with a pad low and angled to allow a full swing. 
And someone (Robert perhaps) put up a design with the tension arm in the very front.
But my first question is assuming that the design of the Onager dose not allow the arm to smack into a cross beam why bother arresting the arm at all?  I know the texts tell us it will splinter stone work but I won't fire it on cement.
The local police are going to have a heart attack when they get a call about a 10' version for the first time.  So outside of town in a open field will be the firing place.  Unless it is going to break the swing arm I could care less if it hits the ground.