Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
The Windsor Sword
Now I'm confused.This is a Pompeii type sword right?Now I read that it is from the early first century.I thought the Pompeii type didn't come into use until the second half of the first century. Someone educate me. <p></p><i></i>
I am no expert, but I don't think it is possible to put an exact date as to when certain types of equipment came into use, given the amount of archaeological evidence found to date. There is going to be some amount of lee way when dating the usage of certain weapons.<br>
Mind you, as soon as someone with some actual knowledge of this type of thing replies to this post, you will see that I am probably way out in left field. <p>"Remember, pillage first....then burn."</p><i></i>
Very true,like Lorica Segmentata all my books say that it came into use in the mid first century however,now fragments have been found that show it was in use at least as early as the start of the first century.To bad the Romans didn't have cameras(as far as we know watch,next week they will dig one up)so I guess I'll keep working on my time machine. <p></p><i></i>
Ave!<br>
Pieces of Pompeii swords and/or scabbards have been found at sites in Britain such as Hod Hill, which date to the invasion of 43 or immediately afterwards. So that type had to be in use at least a little before then.<br>
<br>
Not sure what you mean by the "Windsor" sword, though--do you mean the well-known (and apparently inaccurately reproduced) "Long Windsor" scabbard plate, with the raised X and the L-shaped corner cutouts? As I understand it, this find is a little mysterious since there seems to be no site called "Long Windsor", so it must have been mislabeled at some point. It's a perfectly decent Pompeii scabbard, but no blade was found with it. The Ermine Street Guard's bulletin "Exercitus" had a very nice revised reconstruction of it a couple years back.<br>
<br>
Vale,<br>
Matthew/Quintus, Legio XX <p></p><i></i>