Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
modern and ancient look-a-likes
A question as this topic has come up before and in other fora.<br>
<br>
Is there any work done since DNA techniques became standard that addresses explicitely and quantitatively the issue of the difference of modern europeans with the ancients, and how and when the differences occurred?<br>
<br>
I am not an expert, infact I am completely ignorant. I only suspect that 2000 years is "not much" of a time interval but in complete honesty I have no quantitative knowledge of genetics of human populations so I don't know what "not much" is.<br>
<br>
But I do know that the eurasia has always been crossed by invasions and never was a "calm" place (i.e. "pax" of the roman empire was actually an exception).<br>
<br>
Ciao<br>
P.S. I am a red head Italian with Swiss (father) and Italian (mother) genes. Red hair is carried by a recessive gene and for it to be manifest I must have gotten it from both families. I like to think there is some Longobard in my mother's ancient family that were in Gubbio (Umbria) as far back as 1100s.<br>
<p></p><i></i>
Jeffery Wyss
"Si vos es non secui of solutio tunc vos es secui of preciptate."
Interesting notion. I too, would be interested in any info anyone has. I'm half Italian and half German (approx), and I've always wondered who my relations would be in ancient times. <p></p><i></i>
This is interesting, and I suspect somewhat of the same occurance happening in north america, since we all came from Europe in the first place (except the native indians of course), and with the large amount of immigrants coming to the US and Canada every year provides for an intersting comibination of genetics. Good for the species I suppose. <p>"Only Trajan could go to Dacia."<BR>
<BR>
Magnus/Matt<BR>
Optio<BR>
Legio XXX "Ulpia Victrix" </p><i></i>