Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Pelte/pelta
I'm trying to work out how big to make my pelte. The pictures I've seen suggest wide differences in the amount of the user's body which was covered by it; sometimes it's like a body-shield, as big as the hoplite aspis, and sometimes it's more like a buckler. I suppose that means I can do what I like... ( I'll have a big one, then... Confusedhock: )
I do not know if it helps but the Makedonian pikeman´s shield was also called pelta. It was about 60 to 70 cm.
Also there are more tips and info in the Peltast reconstraction subject started by the member TFBAMP in the Greek Army talk last month.
Kind regards
Stefanos
I don't seem to be able to vote in the poll, but when I made my pelta I opted for the "make it as big as you can handle" option.

More specifically, I studied as many vase paintings depicting pelta as I could find (pondered pelta painted pottery if you prefer) and it seemed to me that in most of the depictions the armband was more or less centered on the pelta. From there I decided that the radius of an individual's pelta would perhaps have been about equal to the distance from the inside of the elbow to the fingertips - it seems sensible to have your shield be proportional to your body.

Anyway, my shield has a very nice balance to it. I can move it around very quickly when I rotate my arm. Actually I can move it around very quickly by making just about any sort of swatting motion - a good feature in a shield! Big Grin It also provides me with good coverage when I have it slung over my back.

You can see me with my pelta in Lepidina's and Danno Ulpius'pictures from Roman Days.

Cheers,
Dan
Dan Zeidler
Legio XX
Magnificent! (ARISTON!)
King Sitalkis would like you to join his bodyguard!
Where did you get these splendit boots?
Quote:Magnificent! (ARISTON!)
King Sitalkis would like you to join his bodyguard!
Where did you get these splendit boots?

Thanks! Big Grin