Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Lorica ?
I am a newbie to the Forum and will probably be asking a lot of questions, please bear with me.

I am starting to assemble the bands on my lorica Segmentata, are the bands the same length from top to bottom or are they slightly shorter as they go down to acomadate the overlap.

My background working with close tolorances forces me to be a bit anal at times.

Thanks

Jim McCoin
Forget tolerances the Romans didn't have machine shops although they did have metal turning lathes.
Roman equipment was generally much rougher than modern reproductions.

I would make the strips the same length as you can always trim the ends if required. The ends of the strips should overlap overwise you leave a vulnerable gap down the front and back.

Aulus Cladius Maximus
Bernard Jacobs
Any opinion stated is genally not the opinion of My group or Centurian
Hi Jim,

Yes you do have to trim a bit off every band below the first one so you end up with a straight vertical front and back edge. Also remember that in order to accomodate the ~1" overlap of these seams, one side's hoops do have to be about 2" longer overall than the other side's. It's usually left side over right.

Matt
See FABRICA ROMANORVM Recreations in the Marketplace for custom helmets, armour, swords and more!