Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Hello Honorable Historians
I'm new in this circuit. I am in the process of gathering general information about Historical Civilizations to use in building an PC game.<br>
Does any of you good Roman citizens have any good ideals were I might gather information of Roman and Greek ancient Military band sounds and songs ?<br>
Also sounds and songs of general public enjoyment ?<br>
<br>
By the way ....You Legions<br>
<br>
Personally, I like the Corinthian and Spartan Hopelites and thier past glories of civilizations own brands of ideals of things that glorifies, I think they'd kick your Mighty Roman Gladiators rears back to the Barren Hills of Romulus and Remus before they fought over those Eagles.!!!<br>
<br>
<br>
Have I got any warriors attensions ?<br>
<br>
<br>
<br>
Great sight and forum and please accept my Thanks now on any info you might have.<br>
<br>
Best Regards,<br>
<br>
<br>
<br>
<p></p><i></i>
Salve Morgantina and welcome to RAT. I dont' think there are any known examples of military music for Rome or Greece, other than that the instruments are known and, due to reconstructions, what they sound like. What music they used is unknown. More seems to be written about Greek music (there are several books on the subject) and little about Roman music, although there may be some examples of Roman musical notation on papyrus.<br>
<br>
As to civilian music, there are several groups that have CD's out of their recreations of Roman music.<br>
<br>
Ludi Scaenici www.geocities.com/Vienna/...udeng.html<br>
Tanzmeisterin Suzanne www.tanzmeisterin.de/<br>
Roman Provincial www.ancestral.co.uk/romanmusic.htm<br>
<br>
and there are several others.<br>
<br>
As to books, you could look at this one:<br>
<br>
"Music in Ancient Greece and Rome"<br>
by John G. Landels<br>
<br>
A search on 'roman music' at amazon also turns up several books, out of print, in French, German and Italian. <p>Richard Campbell, Legio XX<br>
<br>