Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Laquerii
Well, I am no expert in anything, including this, but what I've read on other groups on the web seems to indicate that the laquerius was outfitted basically like a retarius, but substituting the lasso for a net. So the rope wasn't really a weapon, but a means of capturing an arm or leg, neck, etc., to draw the opponent into spear range. From other mock combat, I can certainly attest that a spear can be quite as effective as a sword, and has a much longer reach.
M. Demetrius Abicio
(David Wills)

Saepe veritas est dura.
Quote:Well, I am no expert in anything, including this, but what I've read on other groups on the web seems to indicate that the laquerius was outfitted basically like a retarius, but substituting the lasso for a net. So the rope wasn't really a weapon, but a means of capturing an arm or leg, neck, etc., to draw the opponent into spear range. From other mock combat, I can certainly attest that a spear can be quite as effective as a sword, and has a much longer reach.

If the laquearius was equipped like a retiarius than his long weapon should have been a trident not a spear. The hoplomachus was carrying the spear. What do the laquearii of the groups you mention wear for protective armor?
Quote:What do the laquearii of the groups you mention wear for protective armor?

[url:hemfcj2x]http://www.gladiator.at/index2en.html[/url]

Click on the sidebar labeled "Gladiators" When you see the laquarius appear, click on him for a short description. The same fellow is a retarius some of the time, too.

That link is a ludus in Hungary. I can't promise they have that part right, but the gear is simply a retarius, switches from trident to spear, and net to lariat.