Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Pressfield, Afghan Campaign
Has anyone read [amazon]Steven Pressfield, The Afghan Campaign[/amazon]? Or any other novel by Pressfield?
Jona Lendering
Relevance is the enemy of history
My website
I have read "The Gates of Fire" and "the Tides of War" by Pressfield a couple of years ago. The author draws a quite grim picture of ancient Greece, which I appreciate. In my opinion "Gates of Fire" was excellent, very athmospheric in describing the Thermopylae battle.

Also the author seems to know something about the battle tactics of antiquity which is not always so. "The Tides of War" was also good, telling about the peloponnesian war through the eyes of a mercenary and there´s also Alcibiades & Socrates, of course...

I am not an expert of the ancient fiction but these books surely belongs to the top among them.
Virilis / Jyrki Halme
PHILODOX
[Image: fectio.png]
Ave,
I,too, have read "Gates of Fire" and enjoyed it
very much. The opinions of Virilis are right on target.
It gave me a sense of being there and I actually
felt empathy for the characters.Highly recommended.
Andy Booker

Gaivs Antonivs Satvrninvs

Andronikos of Athens
OK, that's what I needed to know. I was asking because a friend of mine will in a journal interview Frank Holt on http://The land of bones, which deals with Alexander's Afghan Campaign; and he was wondering if it wad a good idea to refer to the Pressfield book. If Pressfield wasn't OK, we would not have mentioned it at all.
Jona Lendering
Relevance is the enemy of history
My website
One minor quibble with Pressfield in Gates Of Fire...

About midway through the book he has one of the characters (one of the daughters) comment that the young boy's face is a red as a tomato.

Now, perhaps I am mistaken but I was under the impression that tomatoes were unknown in Ancient Greece/Rome.