Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
The phalanx\'s mule
Charete Filoi,

I was thinking, (I do that sometimes) that certainly hoplites, peltasts, psiloi and ekdromoi are all fine and good, but an army marches with its stomach. So how about this most important part of any Greek army, Skeuoforos the baggage carrier?
[Image: Baggage1.jpg]
So far, and also thanks to Stefanos, I’ve discovered two authors providing us with details about what baggage carriers actually carried. Xenophon is one, and strangely enough Aristophanes.

Of course both authors description must be taken with a pinch of salt. Xenophon because he describes what the “perfect” army should carry, and Aristophanes because in “Acharnes” describes the contents of Lamachus (a General) food basket.

From representations what appears to be the base of the baggage kit was a wooden frame or yoke called “Gylios” (A of the diagram).
Sorry about the poor quality I’m not very good at this sort of thinks.

[Image: Baggage4.jpg]
Over the “Y” end of the Gylios the beddings (B of the diagram) were strapped. The beddings themselves could be used as carrying space. Inside or strapped on them, According to Xenophon, one could carry pottery, a mill for flour medical supplies and so on. I do not know what one could use for bedding. Blankets are a possibility, goat skins (very warm and comfortable by the way)

On the other end, a basket carrying food supplies was suspended. What was actually carried was a matter of personal wealth and preference. On the start of a campaign the city would ordain for how many days supplies should be carried.
Barley was certainly carried as it was the base of their diet. Also onions, preserved fish or meat (rarely), salt, figs and other dried fruits perhaps. Fig and grape leaves were used to wrap the food.

Canteens made from caly were also carried.