Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Mycenaean Chariot
Hello
I am just finishing an illustration of a dual chariot (circa 15th century BC).
Can anyone help me to check if all the details are corrected? Any commentary is wellcome.
Thanks
Best regards
JP Vieira
Visit my Website at
[url:n6bls2l1]http://ilustro.webs.com/[/url]
Hey, looks good to me! Heck, better than the one McBride did in the Osprey book on Mycenaeans--he likes to use Percherons for horses...

You should post over on the Bronze Age Center, where there are more guys who know their chariots better than I do. Some of them will debate the use of the spear by a charioteer, but that's half the fun.

http://s8.invisionfree.com/Bronze_Age_Center/index.php ?

And I won't debate the dating issue here, it's not relevant! Great work, keep it up!

Matthew
Matthew Amt (Quintus)
Legio XX, USA
<a class="postlink" href="http://www.larp.com/legioxx/">http://www.larp.com/legioxx/
I'm no expert, but from what I have read and seen of the originals (artistic portrayals of course, I am at least a thousand years younger :wink: ) this looks really good to me....
You've obviously studied the various depictions..
the ponies look a little plumper than the originals, or is it the angle...they seemed to have long shallow backs and rather plump bottoms or withers...although that is probably artistic licence......they also liked plump bottomed women in those days I believe...lol
I love this drawing.... Big Grin
regards
Arthes
Cristina
The Hoplite Association
[url:n2diviuq]http://www.hoplites.org[/url]
The enemy is less likely to get wind of an advance of cavalry, if the orders for march were passed from mouth to mouth rather than announced by voice of herald, or public notice. Xenophon
-