Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Sources for Hellenistic warfare after Alexander
Hello all,

I have been occasionally lurking on this interesting forum after Dan Howard brought it to my attention. I thought I'd sign up to enlist members' help in suggesting sources for research for a coming paper (and for reading for fun should time run out before I've read everything I really want to!) I am a Canadian undergraduate with a long-term hobby interest in premodern warfare. I will probably introduce myself properly in the Introductions thread at some point.

I am working on a high-quality undergraduate essay on Hellenistic warfare, with an emphasis on the interaction between Greek and non-Greek troops, military traditions, and fighting styles. I have read most of the classics on Achaemenid Persia (Olmstead, J.M. Cook, etc) and on Classical warfare (Connolley, K.J. Anderson's "Military Theory and Practice", VDH's hoplite battle book, etc.) I also have other useful sources on the Achaemenid army such as Paul Rahe's Cunaxa article, the Encyclopedia Iranica articles on "army" and "kardakes," Nick Sekunda's two relevant Ospreys ("Army of Alexander the Great" and "Achaemenid Persian Army"). I have read part of G.T. Griffith's The Mercenaries of the Hellenistic World and will look at one B. Bar Kochva's The Selucid Army: Organization and Tactics in the Great Campaigns. There are also the primary sources, although for the Hellenistic period they are famously difficult and I expect I will only have time and space to read and analyze bits and pieces.