Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Alexander\'s tomb : Last known location ?
Hello everyone.<br>
<br>
This is my first time on GAT.<br>
<br>
I was wondering what we know about Alexander's tomb. In the movie "Cleopatra" with Elizabeth Taylor, Alexander's body looks like it is embedded in some kind of see-through material (thick glass ?). I think I read somewhere that he was embalmed in honey. Anyone know any further details ?<br>
<br>
Also, I was wondering what the last known location of his tomb was. I assume it was probably stolen by the Arabs in the seventh century or sometime later .<br>
<br>
Assuming the tomb was accurately portrayed in "Cleopatra", it looks like it weighs a ton and would probably be very difficult to transport. I wonder where it could possibly have been taken to.<br>
<br>
Oh well. At least we have his father's tomb .<br>
<br>
BTW, I just read an article about how close scientists are to finding Genghis Khan's tomb which prompted me<br>
to write this thread.<br>
<br>
-Theo <p></p><i></i>
Jaime
i remember something about alexanders body being taken from babylon to Alexandria in Egypt and entombed underground somewhere thats all i know though disregard anvthing you see in Cleopatra its pretty bad as far as actual history goes. <p></p><i></i>
Quote:</em></strong><hr>disregard anvthing you see in Cleopatra its pretty bad as far as actual history goes. <hr><br>
<br>
You mean like the Arch of Constantine being in Julius Caesar's triumph ? <p></p><i></i>
Jaime
Check out the current issue of 'Minerva' it has an article that suggests that Alexanders tomb may have ended up in Venice! <p></p><i></i>
All the pertinent facts are [url=http://www.archaeology.org/online/features/alexander/tomb.html" target="top]here[/url].<br>
Basically, the tomb was still in Alexandria during the reign of emperor Caracalla. Later Arab writers claim to have seen it, but do not specify the whereabouts. (Presumably still in or around Alexandria, tho'.) <p></p><i></i>